November 14, 2011

AIFI's 2011 winners

American Indian Motion Picture Award WinnersThe 36th American Indian Film Festival ended Saturday with presentation of this year's winners with the American Indian Motion Picture Awards Show at the Palace of Fine Arts.

The American Indian Motion Picture Awards Show, recognizing excellence in USA American Indian and Canada First Nations cinematic achievement, making the annual awards show one of the most prominent Indian Country and Native Cinema showcases.

Outstanding performances varied across the talent venue, on awards night including: Blues singer/songwriter Derek Miller, Punk/Indie band Miracle Dolls, Hip Hop/ R&B duo The Battiest Brothers, comedian JR Redwater, and violinist Swil Kanim.

This year's winners are listed below:

BEST FILM--Shouting Secrets, Korinna Sehringer, Director

BEST DIRECTOR--Andrew Okpeaha MacLean, On The Ice

BEST ACTOR--Chaske Spencer, Shouting Secrets

BEST ACTRESS--Michelle St. John, Every Emotion Costs
Comment: Follow the link to see the full list of winners.

For more on the subject, see The Best Indian Movies.

No comments: