October 30, 2010

First Drum Awards announced

Studi and Mankiller to receive Drum Awards

By Tesina JacksonOrganizers for the inaugural Drum Awards have announced the first group of recipients, and it includes Cherokee actor Wes Studi and the late former Principal Chief Wilma Mankiller.

The awards ceremony, set for 7 p.m. on Nov. 1 at the Choctaw Nation Casino Resort in Durant, recognizes both individuals and tribes whose contributions have gone largely unrecognized in Indian Country and mainstream America.

Studi will receive the Arts and Entertainment Award, while Mankiller will be honored posthumously with the Lifetime Achievement Award.
And:Others recipients consist of John Herrington (Chickasaw) for health and science, John Echo Hawk (Pawnee) for tribal governance, Billy Franks (Nisqually) for environment and culture, Ron Allen (Jamestown S’Kallam Tribe) for defense of sovereignty, Ladonna Harris (Comanche) for economic self-reliance, the Choctaw Code Talkers of World War I for patriotism and the Choctaw Nation Scholarship Advisement Program for education.

Organizers said they hope the Drum Awards raises the standard of what is expected from Native Americans and advances appreciation of who they are.
Comment:  For more on the subject, see my postings on Wes Studi and Wilma Mankiller.

No comments: